Mial Williamson Scholars

The Mial Williamson scholarship was established in 1988 with a gift by Mial’s brother, Bob, challenging Mial’s classmates from the Class of 1949. The challenge was met within a few weeks, and the scholarship has been awarded since then. It is an award that provides a monetary gift to a student who shows the qualities of leadership and athletics that Mial possessed. Mial was president of the student body, co-captain of the basketball team, and served the school energetically throughout his high school years.

Mial also had four brothers who graduated from Broughton: Carl ’37, Bailey ’40, John ’43, and Bob ’51.

1988 Troy Legg
1989 Aimee Korean Had
1990 Katie Elizabeth Titchener
1991 David Moffatt McConnell
1992 David Lee Phelps
1993 Benjamin L. Worley
1994 Kathryn Anne Wood
1995 Shelley Ruth Jean
1996 Ayana Chenique Smalls
1997 Brian Collins Fork
1998 Joseph Francis Cannon
1999 William Joseph Bateman
2000 Elizabeth Hampton Jeter
2001 Gregory Michael Morrell
2002 Elizabeth Bradley Stimmel
2003 Edward Williams Jernigan
2004 Andrew Vaughan Evans
2005 Ann Elizabeth McCollum
2006 Molly Rachel Skinner
2007 Mary Lawrence McMillan
2008 Sarah Spenser Murray
2009 Molly Crenshaw
2010 Mary Morgan Bitler
2011 R. Staats Battle
2012 Caroline Sprecher
2013 Lucas Jones
2014 Sara Kiley Watson
2015 Emma Wilson
2016 Austin Tyler Bell
2017 Elizabeth Carson Harvey
2018 Addison Grace Wilson
2019 Lucas Ralls
2020 John Michael Curtis
2021 Lillian Holmes